top of page
Home
Cherry Tree

WELCOME TO

Pickering Book Tree

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

SHOP WITH US

Choose from a huge range of books over at Bookshop.org, who will post in-stock books direct to you. Please select Pickering Book Tree as your bookshop if you would like to support us with your purchase.

Browse our curated book lists or search for any book via Bookshop.org

Book Bingo 2023

Join our relaxed challenge to stretch your reading in 2023! Complete lines using your own book choices, or join our fortnightly Read Along to mark off some or all of the squares. Find out more below.

About

About

Pickering Book Tree

spring tree (pale green).png

BOOKS THAT GIVE BACK

We care about our local community, and believe that making the world a better place begins with small acts of kindness. We believe in shopping local, nurturing a love of reading, and supporting regional development.

 

We want our shop to be a welcoming environment for all, and share with you our passion for books. We will have regular bookshop events and can't wait to open our shop to everyone and celebrate amazing reads together!

summer tree (spring).png

BOOKS THAT DON'T COST THE EARTH

We know that the only thing better than delving into a new page turner is delving into a new page turner while supporting positive change.

 

That's why we plant a tree for every 50 books bought from our bookshop, website or via our Bookshop.org shop. One tree on average produces more than 200 paperback books, and most books are made from sustainably managed forests, so we more than replace the trees that pass through our shop as books.

 

Our business is not only carbon neutral, it's tree positive.

autumn tree (spring).png

BOOKS YOU WILL LOVE

We love books, and we love helping others find their next perfect read. Whether you're looking for a gripping crime novel, an escape into stunning fantasy or the latest culinary how-to, we're on hand to help you find your book match. We stock a wide range of books for all ages, and are always happy to order in if we don't have what you're looking for on the shelves. We're adding to our book reviews and curated lists all the time, so check back on our website for book inspiration, or join our mailing list to keep up to date with new releases, events, and our favourite books we think you'll love. 

IT ALL STARTED WITH LOVE
For Books and Bees and Trees

Shop Coming Soon

Read the Latest

BLOG POSTS

!
Blog
Events

Coming Up Next

Events

  • Sally Coulthard
    Sally Coulthard
    Thu, 13 Jun
    Pickering Book Tree
    13 Jun 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us in conversation with bestselling Author and Columnist Sally Coulthard. We’ll discuss the hidden history of the countryside, and the objects that shine a light on a way of life so often overlooked in historical records.
  • Lost In Time
    Lost In Time
    Sat, 15 Jun
    Pickering Book Tree
    15 Jun 2024, 11:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join children’s author and illustrator Dawn Treacher for an exciting race against time, and make your own moving clock to take home! Perfect for readers aged 8+, Lost in Time is a new modern adventure with historical and sci-fi elements, combined with friendship and family.
  • Wyl Menmuir
    Wyl Menmuir
    Thu, 20 Jun
    Pickering Book Tree
    20 Jun 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us for an evening in conversation with award winning author, Wyl Menuir who will guide us through the rich history of our British woodland as encountered through the lives of those who work with trees. We will discuss the beauty and vitality of trees and our relationship with them across time.
  • Gay Marris
    Gay Marris
    Tue, 25 Jun
    Pickering Book Tree
    25 Jun 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us for an evening with crime fiction author Gay Marris to celebrate the publication of her darkly witty debut, A Curtain Twitcher’s Book of Murder. Built up from a series of connecting short stories which weave together into a clever overarching narrative, this novel is sure to entertain!
  • Edwina Hayes
    Edwina Hayes
    Fri, 28 Jun
    Pickering Book Tree
    28 Jun 2024, 19:30 – 22:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    A Folk at the Book Tree event! Edwina Hayes brings together English folk, Americana and the rich Northern singer/songwriter tradition to create a sound that’s truly her own.
  • The Summer Party
    The Summer Party
    Thu, 04 Jul
    Pickering Book Tree
    04 Jul 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join Kate Gray, author of the 2023 hit summer thriller, 'The Honeymoon' as she launches her next page-turner, 'The Summer Party'.
  • Becky Mills
    Becky Mills
    Fri, 26 Jul
    Pickering Book Tree
    26 Jul 2024, 19:30 – 22:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    A Folk at the Book Tree event! Becky time-travels through folklore, family, love & loss to bring a uniquely personal, modern slant to the folk genre.
  • Odyssey Earth
    Odyssey Earth
    Date TBC
    Pickering Book Tree
    Date TBC
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Meet YA Sci-Fi Author Rex Burke, and hear more about his brilliant space adventure series with heart, soul and humour. Odyssey Earth is perfect for fans of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Red Dwarf, and anyone who enjoys character driven feelgood stories with found family vibes!
  • Carrie Martin
    Carrie Martin
    Fully Booked
    Fri, 10 May
    Pickering Book Tree
    10 May 2024, 19:30 – 22:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    A Folk at the Book Tree event! Hear Carrie Martin in concert with her stunning mix of folk, blues and prog rock influenced music. Both sets will be opened with trad folk music by Beth Burrows.
  • Kate Morgan
    Kate Morgan
    Fully Booked
    Tue, 23 Apr
    Pickering Book Tree
    23 Apr 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us in conversation with Kate Morgan, when we'll discuss the history of women, violence, and the development of the law as it is today. Kate's powerful books shine a light on the hidden cases which shaped British law, covering shocking true stories with brilliantly researched detail.
  • Easter Holiday Pony Activities
    Easter Holiday Pony Activities
    Wed, 03 Apr
    Pickering Book Tree
    03 Apr 2024, 11:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join pony book author Cressida Burton and take part in fun horsey activities, learn about ponies, and hear an extract from one of Cressida's six brilliant books!
  • Merlin Finds His Magic
    Merlin Finds His Magic
    Wed, 27 Mar
    Pickering Book Tree
    27 Mar 2024, 14:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Meet Grace Olson and hear about her beautiful book for young readers. The story is inspired by Merlin, a real-life therapy sheep who you can see on this Spring's series of The Yorkshire Vet!
  • Katy Massey
    Katy Massey
    Fully Booked
    Tue, 12 Mar
    Pickering Book Tree
    12 Mar 2024, 19:30 – 21:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Meet Katy Massey as we discuss her powerful debut crime novel, All Us Sinners. Hear a reading from the book, and learn more about her moving page-turner during this Q&A event.
  • 100 Summers
    100 Summers
    Fully Booked
    Thu, 01 Feb
    Pickering Book Tree
    01 Feb 2024, 18:00 – 19:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Meet Children’s and YA author Ali Sparkes and hear about her latest mystery adventure, 100 Summers! It’s sure to be an evening of intrigue, laughs, and a sprinkling of wooooaaah moments!
  • Olivia Mulligan
    Olivia Mulligan
    Fully Booked
    Tue, 19 Dec
    Pickering Book Tree
    19 Dec 2023, 19:30 – 21:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us for uplifting poetry with BBC Radio York’s Poet Laureate, Olivia Mulligan. With a mix of year round and seasonal poems, this is a lovely way to spend an evening in the run up to Christmas!
  • A Christmas Ghost Story
    A Christmas Ghost Story
    Fully Booked
    Tue, 05 Dec
    Pickering Book Tree
    05 Dec 2023, 19:30 – 21:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Author Toby Virgo will once again transport us to Victorian London with his troubled character Carter the Cabman, in this first public reading of a haunting short story set on Christmas Day.
  • Solar Storm
    Solar Storm
    Fully Booked
    Mon, 20 Nov
    Pickering Book Tree
    20 Nov 2023, 18:30 – 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join Sacha and Thomas Webborn for the launch of their dystopian YA book, Solar Storm. With live music, a reading from the story, and the chance to ask the Author and Illustrator questions, this immersive event is suitable for all!
  • Naomi Kelsey
    Naomi Kelsey
    Fully Booked
    Tue, 31 Oct
    Pickering Book Tree
    31 Oct 2023, 19:30 – 21:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Hear from historical fiction author Naomi Kelsey about her gripping novel inspired by the incredible true story that set 16th-century Scotland and Denmark alight.
Contact

CONTACT
US

Pickering Book Tree

43a Market Place

Pickering

North Yorkshire YO18 7AE

enquiries@pickeringbooktree.co.uk

01751 469715

  • Facebook Logo
  • Instagram Logo
  • Twitter Logo

VISIT
US

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

Closed

TELL
US

Thanks for your message - we will reply as soon as we can.

Newsletter
bottom of page