top of page
Home
Forest

WELCOME TO

Pickering Book Tree

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter

SHOP WITH US

Choose from a huge range of books over at Bookshop.org, who will post in-stock books direct to you. Please select Pickering Book Tree as your bookshop if you would like to support us with your purchase.

Browse our curated book lists or search for any book via Bookshop.org

About

About

Pickering Book Tree

spring tree (pale green).png

BOOKS THAT GIVE BACK

We care about our local community, and believe that making the world a better place begins with small acts of kindness. We believe in shopping local, nurturing a love of reading, and supporting regional development.

 

We want our shop to be a welcoming environment for all, and share with you our passion for books. We will have regular bookshop events and can't wait to open our shop to everyone and celebrate amazing reads together!

summer tree (spring).png

BOOKS THAT DON'T COST THE EARTH

We know that the only thing better than delving into a new page turner is delving into a new page turner while supporting positive change.

 

That's why we plant a tree for every 50 books bought from our bookshop, website or via our Bookshop.org shop. One tree on average produces more than 200 paperback books, and most books are made from sustainably managed forests, so we more than replace the trees that pass through our shop as books.

 

Our business is not only carbon neutral, it's tree positive.

autumn tree (spring).png

BOOKS YOU WILL LOVE

We love books, and we love helping others find their next perfect read. Whether you're looking for a gripping crime novel, an escape into stunning fantasy or the latest culinary how-to, we're on hand to help you find your book match. We stock a wide range of books for all ages, and are always happy to order in if we don't have what you're looking for on the shelves. We're adding to our book reviews and curated lists all the time, so check back on our website for book inspiration, or join our mailing list to keep up to date with new releases, events, and our favourite books we think you'll love. 

IT ALL STARTED WITH LOVE
For Books and Bees and Trees

Shop Coming Soon

Read the Latest

BLOG POSTS

!
Blog
Events

Coming Up Next

Events

  • Summer Holiday Book Club
    Summer Holiday Book Club
    Mon, 22 Jul
    Pickering Book Tree
    22 Jul 2024, 11:00 – 26 Aug 2024, 12:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us every Monday for book chatter and fun activities, as we read an out of this world adventure from Frank Cottrell-Boyce (recently announced as the new Children's Laureate). A summer holiday club perfect for children aged 9-12!
  • Scott Alexander Howard
    Scott Alexander Howard
    Wed, 24 Jul
    Pickering Book Tree
    24 Jul 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us in conversation with Scott Alexander Howard to discuss his internationally bestselling debut, ‘The Other Valley’. Philosophical, lyrical and unique, this deeply moving novel is perfect for fans of David Mitchell, Emily St John Mandel, and Kazuo Ishiguro.
  • Becky Mills
    Becky Mills
    Fully Booked
    Fri, 26 Jul
    Pickering Book Tree
    26 Jul 2024, 19:30 – 22:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    A Folk at the Book Tree event! Becky time-travels through folklore, family, love & loss to bring a uniquely personal, modern slant to the folk genre.
  • Manga Workshop
    Manga Workshop
    Fri, 09 Aug
    Pickering Book Tree
    09 Aug 2024, 16:00 – 18:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    A creative session for teenagers to experiment with Japanese Manga illustration under the expert guidance of professional anime artist, Simon Crook.
  • The Farm
    The Farm
    Tue, 13 Aug
    Pickering Book Tree
    13 Aug 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join us in conversation with Grace Olson when she makes a much anticipated return visit to the Book Tree. Grace’s follow up to The Yard is equally uplifting and poignant, talking about difficult things with warmth and honesty. This is sure to be a wonderful discussion!
  • Gin and Books
    Gin and Books
    Fri, 16 Aug
    Pickering Book Tree
    16 Aug 2024, 19:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Sample delicious locally made spirits and learn about the botanicals that make them so special, alongside relaxed book browsing in the cosy atmosphere of the Book Tree.
  • Tim Murgatroyd
    Tim Murgatroyd
    Tue, 03 Sept
    Church of St Peter and St Paul
    03 Sept 2024, 19:30
    Church of St Peter and St Paul, Hall Garth, Pickering YO18 7AW, UK
    Join us at Pickering Church for a unique event! York-based author, Tim Murgatroyd, will show extracts from silent film & chat about the silent movies that inspired his novel, 'The Electric'. A fascinating insight into early motion picture houses, including the one here in Pickering.
  • Odyssey Earth
    Odyssey Earth
    Date TBC
    Pickering Book Tree
    Date TBC
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Meet YA Sci-Fi Author Rex Burke, and hear more about his brilliant space adventure series with heart, soul and humour. Odyssey Earth is perfect for fans of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Red Dwarf, and anyone who enjoys character driven feelgood stories with found family vibes!
  • The Summer Party
    The Summer Party
    Fully Booked
    Thu, 04 Jul
    Pickering Book Tree
    04 Jul 2024, 19:30
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    Join Kate Gray, author of the 2023 hit summer thriller, 'The Honeymoon' as she launches her next page-turner, 'The Summer Party'.
  • Edwina Hayes
    Edwina Hayes
    Fully Booked
    Fri, 28 Jun
    Pickering Book Tree
    28 Jun 2024, 19:30 – 22:00
    Pickering Book Tree, 43a Market Pl, Pickering YO18 7AL, UK
    A Folk at the Book Tree event! Edwina Hayes brings together English folk, Americana and the rich Northern singer/songwriter tradition to create a sound that’s truly her own.
Contact

CONTACT
US

Pickering Book Tree

43a Market Place

Pickering

North Yorkshire YO18 7AE

enquiries@pickeringbooktree.co.uk

01751 469715

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • X

VISIT
US

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

10:00 - 16:00

Closed

TELL
US

Thanks for your message - we will reply as soon as we can.

Newsletter
bottom of page